top of page
  • uaveggiecats

College Dorm Food: Vegan Cooking Essentials



I always think it is one of the funniest things when I post a picture of food on Snapchat and someone comments, asking “Where is that from??????” It’s funny since most of the food I post I make in my dorm room. I know, I know, dorm food is gross. But does it have to be? Does it have to be ramen every day with some soda? In the 10 weeks I’ve been at school, I’ve only had ramen twice. And it was some pretty good ramen.  Cooking in my dorm is pretty easy, I think. There are definitely things that have helped me through my endeavors. Below is a list of these things. 🙂 -Danielle Essential Cooking Tools

  • A Rice Cooker!

  • Knives and a Cutting Board

Anything is good, really.

  • Water Kettle

Super weird, but recently, I’ve been cooking pasta in my kettle, and IT IS EVERYTHING https://www.target.com/p/aroma-174-7-cup-electric-water-kettle-black/-/A-14263709#lnk=sametab

  • An Immersion Blender

Super helpful for making smoothies and smoothie bowls. 😉 This one has a blender and a food processor setting plus lids for those leftovers! https://www.target.com/p/oster-174-immersion-hand-blender-metallic-red-fpsthb26rdp/-/A-17079637#lnk=sametab

  • Fridge and Microwave are a MUST!!

Pantry. Pantry. Pantry!

Essential Fridge Food

  • Trader Joe’s Hijiki, Edamame, and Tofu Fried Rice ❤

  • Trader Joe’s Frozen Basil Cubes

  • Vegan Yogurt

  • Marinara Sauce or this Super Awesome Alfredo from Sprout’s (I promise it is not this expensive in store https://www.amazon.com/Victoria-Sauce-Alfredo-Vegan-Origi/dp/B01J4M53OM/ref=sr_1_1_s_it?s=grocery&ie=UTF8&qid=1511042133&sr=1-1&keywords=victoria%27s+vegan+alfredo)

  • Baby Carrots

  • Avocados (Target has the cheapest)

  • Kale and Dressing (I like the Goddess Dressing from Trader Joe’s)

  • Frozen Mango (awesome alternative to ice cream)

  • Hummus

  • Gardein Chicken Nuggets (loml https://www.amazon.com/Gardein-Seven-Grain-Crispy-Tenders/dp/B01LYCORR1/ref=sr_1_6_s_it?s=grocery&ie=UTF8&qid=1511042669&sr=1-6&keywords=gardein)

Let’s Make Some Food!! “This Pasta Was Made in your Dorm??” Barilla Fully Cooked Pasta Basil Cubes Olive Oil Salt Heat the pasta in the microwave for one minute. Mix all the rest of the ingredients in. Trader Joe’s Basil Cubes are frozen basil and is preserved in lemon juice and oil, so it’s basically frozen pesto. You’re Welcome. “Pita and Poke, Except Not $10” Rice Veggies (carrot, cucumber, avocado, seaweed) Soy Sauce and Sriracha Cook Rice. Top with sliced veggies. Cover that ish with soy sauce sriracha and whatever other goodies you can think of. “I’m Lazy” Instant Mashed Potatoes Vegan Chicken Nugs Heat Both. Eat Both. Malto Bene. “I have a Midterm due in 5 hours and I AM THRIVING” Popcorn (Skinny Pop ftw) Oreo (of the desired flavor) Vegan Chocolate Bar Heat chocolate in the microwave in a bowl. Crush up Oreos in a bag with your textbooks (give them a use for something). Mix popcorn, Oreos, and melted chocolate. Bless your Studying. (may or may not have totally stolen this recipe from Buzzfeed, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bmbCETGslE) “Oh You Fancy, Cally Iggy” Rice Paper Wraps Veggies(go bananas) PB Sriracha Soy Sauce Mix PB, Sriracha, Soy Sauce in a bowl to taste (go crazy). Soak the rice paper wraps in water for 10 seconds. Put a lil sauce in the center and put in cut up veggies (maybealittlemango). Fold the bottom towards the center. Fold in the sides. Rollllllll it up. Enjoy (more sauce on the side)

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page